Foxx Industries logo

Confederation of Palestine - GG II Support


The Intelligence Services Section (ISS) of Foxx Industries has amassed the following information on this country.

Map - Switzerland



Traditionally neutral, Switzerland managed to avoid involvement in the Twilight War but was unable to avoid the after effects of the nuclear strikes and the worldwide economic collapse which followed. Traditionally self- sufficient, however, the Swiss closed their borders and sat out the chaotic times until order was restored, then came out of their caves and resumed business as usual. Because of their neutrality (and their business and banking laws). Switzerland is the country where many large corporations maintain their Earth headquarters.

The Swiss Federation was founded in 1291 and declared its independence in 1648. In 1815, the international borders were fixed for the country, which was comprised of 23 cantons (20 full cantons and 6 half-cantons (administrative areas, similar to states or provinces). The country remained that size until after the Twilight War, at which time the tiny country of Liechtenstein petitioned for inclusion, rather than be swallowed up by newly formed Austrovenia. Liechtenstein was formally integrated as the 24th canton in 2148, on the 500th aniversary of independence.


Population: 25 million (75% urban, 25% rural), Unemployment Rate: 4.11%, Literacy: 100%, College Educated: 92%, Average Life Expectancy: 96.3 years (male), 97.0 years (female), Capital: Bern, Largest Cities: Bern, Geneva, Vaduz (Liechtenstein), Zurich, Major Languages: German, French, Italian

Bern is the capital city of the Swiss Federation, which now includes the former country of Liechenstein as one of its cantons. Primarily an administrate center with some light industry, the primary language of the city is german. Geneva hosts headquarters for numerous international organization. Located near the border with France, french is the primary language spoken. Vaduz is the capital of the canton of Liechtenstein, in which german is the principal language. Zurich is located in the northern part of the Federation and is well known for its international stock market. The principal language is german and there is a signficant italian element as well.


Labor Force: 14 million (Agricultural: 2.50 %, Skilled: 11.25 %, Service: 74 %, Unskilled: 12.50 %), Industrial Capacity: 3.3 Rudell Units, Contribution to World Industry: 0.2 %, Agricultural Output: 101 % (net exporter of animal products), Mineral Output: 40 % (net importer of metals), Power Production: 80 % (net importer of power), Gross Domestic Product (GDP): 116.8 BLv, GDP per capita: Lv 4,640, GDP World Ranking: 29, Exchange rate: (Swiss Franc to French Livre): 1.55 : 1

Switzerland is self sufficient in terms of agricultural output and exports sheep and goats to its neighbours. Almost devoid of exploitable minerals, the Federation must import heavily to keep its industries going. Power production is also insufficient for the country's needs and must be imported via the solar power satellite systems that ring Earth. Locally produced power is primarily nuclear fission.


Government Type: Federation, Bundespräsident: Emil Klone, Minister for Foreign Affairs: Piere Christensen, Minister for Military: Pierre Maurer, Minister for Economy: Hans Kohn, National Budget: 23.4 BLv

The federation or Eidgenossenschaft is comprised of 24 Kantone (cantons). Each Kanton is comprised of Bezirkes (districts) which are collections of Gemeinden (municipalities). The government of the Eidgenossenschaft is composed of three branches.

The Federal Assembly or Bundesversammlung consists of two Kammern (houses or chambers). The Ständerat, aka the kleine Kammer (small chamber) has two representatives from each full canton and one representative from each half-canton and Leichtenstein. The second house is known as the Nationalrat or grosse Kammer (large chamber). Representation in this house is proportional to the populations of each canton, full or half.

The Executive Authority or Bundesrat consists of seven members who are elected to four year terms by a combined assembly from the two houses of the Bundesversammlung. The leader of the Swiss Confederation, the Bundespräsident, is chosen from the seven elected members and serves for a one year term. The members of the Bundesrat head the following departments.

The Federal Court or Bundesgericht convenes in Lausanne and is the highest court in the country. It is tasked with matters pertaining to the constitution. The duties of the Federation are defined in the constitution and include:


Percentage of National Budget: 13.9 %, Breakdown of Military Budget: 73.4 % Ground Forces, 13.7 % Aerospace Forces, 0 % Wet Navy Forces (see text), 12.9 % Space Navy Forces, Standing Military Personnel: Ground Forces: 55,000

Switzerland has remained neutral in all conflicts since the Congress of Vienna in 1815, when its international boundaries were fixed. The Federation still practices a policy of armed neutrality and maintains universal conscription for all men and women between the ages of 20 and 40. Every Swiss citizen is required to serve a two year period in military service before the age of 30 and must spend two weeks every year in national milita training. It should be noted that these 'reserve' forces are not counted in the military forces listed above, as they are not active. Militia units can only be called up in a national emergency such as a natural disaster or imminent invasion of the country. A portion of the military budget is spent on the annual reserve training.

Being a land locked country, Switzerland does not have any Wet Navy Forces. Coast Guard duties on Lakes Geneva and Bodensee are performed by the ground forces. There is also a small ocean-going detachment of the Coast Guard that accesses the Atlantic via the Rhine river. They have a few coastal patrol type vessels but lack any ocean-going vessels capable of extended operations away from land. Approximately ten percent of the total Ground Forces budget is set aside for the Coast Guard. Switzerland has a small aerospace force that is used for defense of the country. It also has some space navy assets which are small courier-type vessels and escort fighters.


Location: European continent, Earth (Sol/Core), Neighboring countries: France, Germany, Austrovenia, Italy, Area: 40,800 km2, Highest Elevation: Monte Rosa 4,633 m

Switzerland is a land-locked, mountainous country. It has three clearly defined regions; the Alps, midland, and Jura. The Alpine chains span from the French border south of Lake Geneva diagonally across the southern half of the country, and contain such famous mountains as the Matterhorn and Monte Rosa. Largely uninhabitable, less than ten percent of the population lives in the Alpine region. The midland region of the country contains the majority of the population and consists of hills, valleys and plateaus. The mountains region known as the Jura is the northernmost foldblet of the Alps and is sparsely populated.


  1. Map from Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection of the University of Texas at Austin.
  2. Data relating to GG II courtesy of Steven Alexander and the GG II team.
  3. Geographical Data from the Rand McNally Contemporary World Atlas.
  4. Some text from Earth/Cybertech Sourcebook, (c)1989 Far Future (GDW).
  5. Additional information from Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia 1997, Richard Spake, and internet sources, primarily
These web pages developed and maintained by Terry A. Kuchta
This page created 19 June 1998 and last revised on 25 December 2004.
All material on this web-page is copyright © 1998-2017 by Terry A. Kuchta unless otherwise noted.
E-mail may be sent to